Creating a Sound of Music

Dwight and Richie playing homemade instruments.

One of my favorite things to do is play music with my friends. My longtime friend and his wife spent the day with us yesterday. I shared my homemade instruments with him. We sat down and used them to make music together. It was wonderful to get together again. We learned to play the guitar when we were living on the same floor of the college dorm. That was fifty-seven years ago!

Below are some pictures from a neck rebuild on the first DeWalt guitar I made back in 2020. The first neck was not done well, and I had trouble getting the intonation right on it. This time I used a half post from the Habitat Restore so that the fret board would lay perfectly flat. I carved out the shape on my table saw and sanded it smooth. I use a couple of strips of walnut that I glued together to make my fretboard.  A stick-on Piezo pick-up on the inside picks up the sound very well. The other instrument in the picture above was made a couple of years ago as a baritone ukulele.

If you would like to hear how they sound, go to my Instagram page that is posted under my name.

Good friends

and good music

stay with you forever

IMG_5688

Photos: Dwight & Ruth Roth

https://www.instagram.com/rothdwight/  click here to listen…

53 thoughts on “Creating a Sound of Music

    • Thank you so much, Peter. I a very happy you enjoyed it. It is a lot of fun when you have someone to share it with. We live ten hours apart, so we don’t see each other too often. But when we do get together it is just like it was yeasterday.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment