Savon River Bridge

savon-river-bridge-ponte-alexandre-bridge-paris

A couple of weeks ago I found a tiny 1950’s B&W photo in a desk at the Union County Habitat for Humanity ReStore where I volunteer. On the back was written Savon River Br. After doing some research, I did not find this bridge listed in any search. So I started looking at bridge images in Paris. I found the Ponte Alexander Bridge over the Seine was a perfect match. I used the two photos to paint this painting. I used the photo tools to make the B&W version at the below.

savan-bridge-paris-001

The photo was about an inch and a half square.  I love the shot and wanted to paint the picture. The details were very obscure as you can see. So I searched for a photo on line that matched. The bridge below is what I found.  From the style of the photo I believe the photo was taken back in the 1950s.

pontalexandre01-bridge-paris

I found this image on line showing the Ponte Alexander Bridge in Paris is almost a perfect match. You can see that there were some upgrades to the bridge and lighting since the original was taken.

b-w-alexanderr-bridge-in-paris

This is my Black and White version that I made with the Photo tools on my computer.

If any of you have any idea why the person who took the original might have called it the Savon River Bridge, I would love to hear from you.

4 thoughts on “Savon River Bridge

  1. Thanks so much for dropping by and commenting on my Pont Alexandre III post and painting! This is great and I enjoyed seeing that old photo – It’s a stunning bridge. Afraid I can’t help with the Savon query but if I find out I’ll be sure to drop you a line!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

