Good Friends are Hard to Find

IMG_3811_1

Twelve years ago, we moved to the Charlotte area to be closer to my son and his family. We both had just fully retired. Downsizing was a challenge as we went through our years of collecting and saving.  The question became, “Why would we save this?” The trash bags filled and got dumped. We had two yard sales and got rid of many household items as well as tools and wood I had collected. There are very few if any of the items we sold that I now miss.

I was working for my friend, Bunky, managing his siding warehouse. When moving day came, he personally came and brought his siding crew of workers to help us load the 27ft U-haul Van. He was in his mid-seventies at that time, but he got in the back of the truck where he packed and stacked all the stuff we were taking with us. By lunchtime we were loaded and ready to hit the road. Friends like that are hard to find.

We arrived in Charlotte late in the afternoon. A friend of my son coached a teen soccer team. He came and brought his guys, and they helped us unload the truck. By the end of the day we were moved in and ready for a rest.

Winter transitions

tell you which friends will show up

helping make your day

*

Today, at deverse, Frank Tassone gave us the job of writing a Moving Haibun. I have heard that moving is second only to divorce in the amount of stress it creates.

Join us at: https://dversepoets.com

40 thoughts on “Good Friends are Hard to Find

  1. Downsizing is indeed a challenge, Dwight! I’ve been trying to sort through things to discard even though we’re not moving – yet. How wonderful to have so many people to help you. In times of need, you find out who your friends are.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. There are days I wonder if I have one more move left in me … I have lived in seven States. And moved several times within more than a few of them! I love how you told the story of that huge move. Great haibun.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment