Twin Kiss

Sweet twin kiss, vanilla and chocolate

teasing the taste buds, cooling my palate

Buddy Morgan was the man, drove an orange race car

Raced oval dirt tracks both near and far

His Twin Kiss was the place to be

Burgers, pizza, and milkshakes for me

Mugs of root beer with ice on the glass

Drinking it down was a very easy task

Chevys, Fords, and a 58 Mercury

all parked in rows; but no one’s in a hurry

Guys with duck-tails, Girls with teased hair

Bobby socks and poodle skirts, they made quite a pair

Sitting tight by their guy, teasing and kissing

It’s those days, now in old age, I am missing

Days long gone, and the Twin Kiss too

I loved those old days…

How about you?

Photos: Dwight L. Roth

This is a poem I wrote earlier and have now revised. It has been chosen by Old Mountain Press for the upcoming anthology, Old Tales!

You can read my poems in several other Old Mountain Press anthologies here:

52 thoughts on “Twin Kiss

  1. This is a lovely poem, Dwight. Although I’m somewhat younger then you are and over here in the Netherlands we didn’t have bobby socks, let alone poodle skirts, and our 58 Mercury’s exsisted out of a bycicle or at most a two cilinder mopet, the feeling of sunny days at the ice parlour with your girl at your side is the same. The future, an almost endless amount of time, ahead of you, ready to be concquered, but not quite yet, First a kiss, a twin kiss.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Dwight, My very first date was to a Twin Kiss in Erie, PA. where my family was visiting relatives. I was 10 years old. We walked home and sat on the porch swing. I don’t remember what flavor I got, probably swirl! Thanks for the nostalgic poem and photos, Dwight. It’s been a very long time 🙂 ❤ 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a comment