Waiting for a Train

EER_0833

When you are six or seven, that big black steam train

looks gigantic as it charges down the track

Smoke streaming in a long trail back over the cars

Hauling coal and coke down along the Monongahela River

***

My train rides were only in my mind as I watched

waving to the engineer as he leaned out the window

blowing that piercing whistle as it painted the crossing

with sound louder than that huffing puffing engine

***

I would count the cars as they rumbled by loaded with coke

Often as many as a hundred cars passed before the red caboose

appeared for a moment then gone on down the line

As we watched it disappeared from sight in the evening light

***

Those memories are etched in my mind as much as if

I had been riding on the train through all the little coal mine

patches of houses, all lined up covered with asphalt brick

and “All made out of ticky tacky and all look just the same.”

***

click to enlarge:

 

Paintings: Dwight L. Roth

Posting for Punam’s d’Verse post prompt of a poem about riding on a train. My family never rode the train, but we waited at the crossing for many of them to pass, as I dreamed how much fun it would be to be the engineer driving that big Pennsylvania Dragon, as I called it. I have enjoyed painting my memories of these trains.

Join us at: https://dversepoets.com

 

 

 

 

 

50 thoughts on “Waiting for a Train

  1. A nostalgic train poem, Dwight, that took me back to my own childhood and the steam trains I took with my grandmother, and the house where my grandma lived was right by a railway track and we used to wave to driver and passengers. I love your drawings and paintings.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. When I was small, I visited my aunt in a little coal town in WV. The train track ran very close to the house. It was very noisy as you can imagine certain times of the day and night.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. My goodness Dwight! You write such marvelous poetry AND you paint?! Thank you for sharing your talents with us. Trains were also part of my childhood in the western suburbs of Chicago. We too counted the cars while waiting at the crossings, and waved to the engineer just as you did. Thank you for stirring up those small but delightful memories. As a writer I must thank you also for the delightful WAY you write–like the “train charging down the track,” “smoke streaming in a long trail,” and “piercing whistle.” Multiple delights to enjoy in this one post, Dwight!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment