Listen

IMG_5035

 

Silent Words

The ocean speaks silent words to me

As it crashes and rolls across the sand

Words of hope beyond this noise

Of crashing and pounding and roaring blows

IMG_4992

 

Words that speak cleansing to my soul

Smoothing out the rough places in my mind

Letting go the sandcastles of expectation built in sand

Refreshed once again by the receding tide

IMG_5038

Only foundation stones remain

I Listen alone to the silent words

Amid the rolling ebb and flow

Words spoken only to me

So I write my troubles in the sand

And watch

And listen

For the unspoken word

IMG_4987

Photos: Dwight L. Roth

4 thoughts on “Listen

Leave a Reply

