Playing Marbles

EER_0886

When I was in elementary school I loved to shoot marbles. We always referred to it as playing marbles.  We had a variety of circle games we played in the coal cinders on the school yard. Shooting for each others’ marbles was always a challenge. It was not unusual for a good shooter to clean another person out of all his marbles.  I guess this is where the term “loosing your marbles” came from. Sometimes someone showed up with a big steel ball bearing. We did not like playing with them. The weight gave them an extra advantage! The fascination with marbles has continued throughout all these years. I still like to pick up a marble, when I find one and add it to my toy box stash for the grandchildren.

Playing Marbles   (Childhood Details Collection)

Cat’s eyes, steelies, and milky colored marbles

Filled my pockets stretched my drawstring bag

So much fun shooting them into the circle

Hitting your neighbor’s collecting his stash

EER_0870

Using the steel one to me seemed like cheating

Those who had them were almost always winning

Swirling beauties of green and blue

Big ones little ones and solid ones too

EER_0885.JPG

Every now and then coming down to the prized one

Winning that marble always great fun

Marbles forever rattle around in my drawer

On marble rollers, Chinese Checkers, and so much more

Into the fish tank to lay on the floor

Shiny orbs of glass kept us begging for more

Marbles still reside in our toy box for the kids

EER_0883

Grandchildren and strangers come lift the lid

Spying the can that rattles when they shake

Loving to roll them hearing the noise they make

EER_0886

Photos: Dwight L. Roth

2 thoughts on “Playing Marbles

  1. Hi there, I don’t know if you do awards here, but I nominated you for a blogging award today. It’s just a neat way for bloggers to get to know each other. Your link is also posted on my page so my readers have a chance to see your awesome craft posts.
    You can either answer the questions on your blog in a post and nominate more people, or you can answer the questions on my post if you’d like. Or, you can skip it. Ha. Here is the link if you want to check it out: /wordpress.com/post/onecreativefamily.wordpress.com/3019 Thanks

    Like

    • Thank you so much for you kind and supportive words. I really appreciate all of you who read and take the time to comment on what I post. I will check out your blog and see what your award is all about. Thanks so much for thinking of me!!
      Dwight

      Like

Leave a Reply

