Paint, Color, & Texture

EER_0787

Poetry in the Paint!

I love lots of deep color and texture when I paint. Along with poetry and writing, painting is one of my passions. I do not consider myself a painter, but rather a person who loves to paint. Many of my canvases come from the Habitat for Humanity Restore. I buy old canvases and prime them again. If the texture is too rough I cut them off and turn them over and staple them back on again. I prime them with left over Acrylic Latex wall paint, sometimes lightly sanding  off the raised cords, before painting.

Both of these paintings are recycled canvases.

These two ocean paintings came about as a result of an acquaintance at the crafts store saying she was looking for a beach painting. But, she made it clear she did not want an east coast painting.  I told her I would paint one and she could see what she thought.

My inspiration for painting is the same as my poetry. I start with an idea or phrase and the painting and poem develop themselves as I begin to let my imagination flow. Sometimes I have to rework my paintings to get what I want. I love seeing what comes out in the end result!

The painting below is 20 x 60 inches. The one above is 24 x 36 inches.

EER_0500

This is the first painting I tried.  The smaller beach above is a compressed view.  My art studio is the open end of my garage. The car gets the first bay and my painting gets the second. It has great indirect light and works very well for me.

Paintings: Dwight L. Roth

 

 

10 thoughts on “Paint, Color, & Texture

  1. What an impressive drawing especially the turquoise seawater! Not only are you talented in crafting poetic sentences, but also adding much colour to a blank sheet of paper through painting! 🌅

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

