Give Me Wrinkles

Pop and Mom 001

I am always amazed at celebrities who are as old as I am, yet have faces of a forty-year-old. It looks smooth, but does not match their age. I have always been one to go for the natural look. Make-up, to me, seems to only cover ups natural beauty. Some have so much cosmetic work done that when they die, they won’t need to be embalmed. They will be perfect just the way they are!

Give me wrinkles!

Don’t embalm me before my time

Filling my skin with foreign fluids

Pumping up my crow’s feet

Smoothing out my forehead lines

Porcelain skin looks lovely on the young

Yet they cover it with paint and shade

Thinking the artificial somehow looks better

Hiding their natural beauty

Don’t embalm me before my time

Pumping me full of water balloons of silicone

Painful stretching to achieve cleavage

Bringing side effects and risks to health

Just to attain that statuesque look

Don’t embalm me before my time

Let me keep my wrinkles and my lines

Aging with rings like an old oak tree

Scars of battles long past

Showing character and strength

In the body given me

**************************************

Photo: Dwight L. Roth

5 thoughts on “Give Me Wrinkles

Leave a Reply

