I was There

Chris's family Easter 2010 011

Several years ago our church choir director suggested that I write a song for our Easter sunrise service. I accepted the challenge and tried to write a song that captured the essence of what Christ did, when he died on the cross for the sins of the world, past, present, and future. To me that means all that I have done and will do, that would have condemned me, has been nailed there with him that day. So in a way I was there, because it was my sin, as well as all others, that put him there. This is what I came up with.

I was There

When they nailed him to the cross I was there

When they laid him in the grave I was there

All my sins were nailed with him to the cross that day

When Jesus suffered and died for me

*

Jesus saw who I was and he loved me

He loved me because he knew

That the blood he shed could make me clean

And erase all my guilt an pain

*

Then he rose victorious from the grave

He defeated Satan’s power over me

By God’s grace I am saved

By his blood I am cleansed

By his power I am now free

*

Jesus saw who I was and he loved me

He loved me because he knew

That the blood he shed  could make me clean

And erase all my guilt and pain

************************************

Photo: Dwight L. Roth

5 thoughts on “I was There

Leave a Reply

