My Least Favorite Place

IMG_3383.JPG

Where is your least favorite place to go? For me it is the dentist. While at the dentist one day I had a conversation with the hygienist while waiting for the inevitable drilling! I have always had sad experiences when it comes to my teeth. This humorous poem is one way I make light of the psychological and physical pain. A smile for your day!

The Thrill of the Needle & Drill

Here I sit in the dentist’s chair

Waiting for my gum to get numb

It’s a place I avoid for the needles and pain

Are some things from which I run

When the needle went in I did not feel a thing

But the idea still makes me cringe

My mind goes berserk and the memories kick in

Each time I see that syringe

I sat in the chair getting numb to my hair

Awaiting Dr. Hudson’s return

I wait there in dread feeling numb in my head

Helpless with a faraway yearn

Passing the time till the dreaded encounter

The hygienist jokingly said

Since you’re numb in the head and everything’s dead

Your nose could be pierced instead

We talked of tattoos and ear piercings too

Growing old will be a wild wonder

When all those tattoos we love when they’re new

Get pulled and all stretched asunder

How odd to me what some people go through

Piercings extreme pain just to be blue

Arms legs and nipple rings too

And in places you mama never knew

“Ah,” I told her, “That pain’s not for me

My threshold is way too low

When I want to suffer and be tortured and bled

I go to the dentist instead.”

**********************************

Photo: Dwight L. Roth

10 thoughts on “My Least Favorite Place

  1. Ah I pity you all … it is just a vague memory for me! Tired of all the pain and huge expense I had them all out. I strongly recommend dentures as I viable option, and so many people compliment me on my lovely teeth.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. OMG, I am sure dentists are nice people, but somehow when I sit in the dentist’s chair, I think they turn into a transformer! It’s like I can actually see a Doctor Jekyll, Mister Hyde transformation before my very eyes! 😦

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

