Frogs Will Soon Be Singing

Froggie

 Frogs of Spring  

Shivering in the grip of winter

Avoiding the cold wind

I sit in my chair and remind myself

That soon this too will end

 

When the hoarfrost is gone

With the ever rising sun

The earth will thaw

The woods will ring

With a hauntingly familiar hum

 

A chorus of frogs

Singing their mating calls

Looking for one another

To celebrate the thaw

 

When I hear that song rising

In the cool clear air

I know spring is near

Flowers will soon be here

 

As frogs of spring shout out their joyous song

Joy springs in my heart

I know it won’t be long

Till with the frogs of spring

I too will sing along

With that symphony of joy by the woodland’s throng

Photo: Dwight L. Roth

Leave a Reply

