Life’s a Stage

EER_0792

The Curtain Rises

From womb to womb my comfort displaced

Crying with stage fright I take my place

Unprepared for all the applause

I am a star if only for the moment

Smiles and laughter great every performance

Amid my screams and demanding fears

 

Cheers and applause, my part rewritten

I begin to emerge from behind the curtain

Sometimes a hit sometimes a flub

Learning, shaping, the cheers die down

Settling into the character I’ve become

Directors change the play goes on

 

Too much, too hard, I want to get off

But the director draws me back to my spot

Reviews are harsh, my lines self-written

Searching finally loving my part

Free to explore, to grow, to change

Invincible, creative, I speak from my heart

Loving and caring my understudies arrive

Watching and learning smiling wide eyed

Full of wild wonder, joy, and fear

Finding their part reading with pride

Filling in when I flub my line

 Taking my part as I decline

 

The play of life a fleeting grand moment

As the curtain falls time after time

Cherishing each applauded performance

Handling each misstep covering dropped lines

Awestruck with each outstanding delivery

My understudy’s here their stage time is ready

 

Life’s a stage where we all perform

Big parts and small parts lessons to be learned

As I near the end of my acting career

Mine not for prying eyes or loud cheer

Just a small part far from perfection

Played, then my understudy assumes the direction

******************************

Photo: Dwight L. Roth

This is a repost from last summer!

4 thoughts on “Life’s a Stage

Leave a Reply

