Groundhog Day

eer_0304

Yesterday was Groundhog Day. I was encouraged to see my first daffodils blooming along the creek. It really doesn’t matter whether the Groundhog sees his shadow or not. Spring will come on schedule as it does every year.  Our temperatures take a roller coaster ride this time of the year, but warm weather will soon be here to stay!

Groundhog Day

If the Groundhog saw his shadow

He forgot to tell the flowers

More days of winter in his plan

Blooms in sunshine spread their shadows

eer_0296

Daffodils in bloom my sign of spring

Forget the Groundhog’s gloomy lore

Winter may  send its blustery blow

I see blooms I hear my little birds sing

eer_0306

Warmth and sun rays with warm spring showers

Bringing hope and joy with each new flower

Winter’s past the cold won’t last

I ‘m really ready to put it in my past

eer_0299

Photos: Dwight L. Roth

 

6 thoughts on “Groundhog Day

Leave a Reply

