New Life for a Vintage Guitar

eer_0957

I love fixing things. Taking things others throw away and restoring them has been a lifelong passion. I got this guitar at the Habitat Restore where I volunteer. It was broken and split all around the top and on the side.  It appeared  someone slammed it down on the one side. I saved it from the dumpster and took it home to see what I could do with it. Over the past month, I was able to glue, patch, and cement the pieces back together.The little triangle pieces that held the top to the sides kept breaking off and falling out as I worked. I also love to paint, so I painted the design on the front back and sides that you see here.  The label said it was a Jose Ramirez made in Madrid in 1937. The guitar might have been worth a few thousand dollars if it had not been broken. I am happy with the way it turned out. It has wooden tuning pegs which tend to slip so keeping it in tune is a little difficult. The tone and resonance is still rich and clear. It will be an art piece for me!

eer_0971

 

img_3203

The whole top was loose, cracked, and broken.

 

img_3205

With filler, plastic wood, and super glue I put it back together.

img_3210

 

eer_0850

 

eer_0862

I primed and painted the sanded surface with auto paint.

 

eer_0856

I was surprised to find 1937 on the inside label.

img_3218

I wanted to find some designs that would reflect the Spanish style.

img_3217

After painting the design with acrylic paint, I clear coated it with a coating

that was made for acrylic paintings.

eer_0960

This was the final result.

Guitar Painting and Photos: Dwight L. Roth

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

9 thoughts on “New Life for a Vintage Guitar

Leave a Reply

