Ornaments of Love

eer_0885

I taught elementary school  for 29 years. At Christmas some of my students and fellow teachers brought Christmas ornaments to give me . It was always special to get these gifts from them. Over the years I have collected quite a few, which I added to my tree. As a result I have never had to buy decorations. I simply hang all of their gifts of love on my tree and remember the smiling faces of those who cared enough to share them with me.

This is not a poem today, but rather a few of the gifts I received over the years. Some of the ornaments like this stamp have the date stamped on them. The picture above was from 1982.  This was from 1977 when postage was only 13 cents!

eer_0863

 

eer_0865

 

 

 

eer_0882

eer_0879

eer_0876

 

eer_0881

 

 

eer_0866

Some like this one were homemade ornaments.

eer_0869

eer_0887

Each Christmas my grandchildren come and help decorate our tree. They really enjoy looking at each one and placing it in a special place on the tree.

eer_0729

Photos: Dwight L.Roth

8 thoughts on “Ornaments of Love

Leave a Reply

