Brown Bunny

brown-bunny

Brown Bunny

Little brown bunny came by this morning

Fattened by summer green he’s mourning

Nibbling remains of the frostbitten grass

Knowing winter’s fare is here at last

Thick fur coat picked out for winter

Buttoned up tight all around this sprinter

Watching me make coffee he sits and wonders

Not sure what’s going on at my kitchen counter

Hot coffee for me as I watch him shiver

Waiting patiently for me his pose delivers

Then off to the woods and his nest in the grass

Tonight when it’s cold he’ll be out in the blast

Freezing air coming in it sure will  be a cold

Maybe some snow blowing in strong and bold

When time to sleep I’ll be snug in my bed

He’ll be out there in his warm nest instead

One thought on “Brown Bunny

Leave a Reply

