When My Spirit Rises

What happens when you die?  There are lots of ideas regarding heaven or hell, or perhaps you believe that’s it and nothing happens. Some believe we are reincarnated and come back to live life again on the earth. I believe my spirit will return to God who gave it life. The body is only a temporary shell that our spirit lives in during our time on the earth. The Bible is full of metaphors that describes heaven as a magnificent place with golden streets, rivers, trees, and precious stones set into the walls. It talks of the throne of God and Jesus at His right hand. But if God is Spirit then I believe we return to the spirit world of God and whatever else that entails.  The thing that amazes me is how attached we have become to this earth , knowing all along that we can’t take it with us.

When My Spirit Rises

When my spirit rises

Unencumbered and free

No weight or worry

Accompanying me

Interesting that I value things

When in the end the spirit flies

Leaving it all behind

How much I worry and fret

But this too shall pass when I am gone

My spirit rises out of this shell

A virtual butterfly reborn

From caterpillar to chrysalis

Reborn in the image of God

Spirit Creator Redeemer Savior

Knowing there is no place for the earthly

In the Spirit world beyond

I can’t take it with me

But then again

Why would I want to

When my spirit rises

Leaving it all behind

eer_0701

Photos: Dwight & Ruth Roth

 

5 thoughts on “When My Spirit Rises

Leave a Reply

