Ego vs. Self-respect

eer_0017

When someone takes advantage of me I become reactionary. I feel hurt and want to demand my rights. I am ready to stand my ground and say whatever comes into my head.  As the stalemate continues, bitterness entangles my spirit and enhances my feeling of entitlement. When my ego takes over self-respect takes a back seat.  In the end,  I do or say things I later regret. So, what is the solution?

Ego vs. Self-respect

Offence committed

Feeling hurt

Debt owed still unpaid

Ego demands respect

Rights and entitlement

Adrenalin pumping

Brain fog of bitterness

But wait…

It’s not all about me

Someone else’s choices

Egos and resistance

Complicate the mix

Understanding needed

Forgiveness brings freedom

Debt canceled paid in full

Mind at ease

Ego back in the cage

Now I can look in the mirror

6 thoughts on “Ego vs. Self-respect

Leave a Reply

