Oldies

wmbs-uniontown-pa-1991-001

When I was twelve,  my father got a brand new 1959 Black Chevrolet. Since I was a preachers kid, we went to church a lot. I remember getting the car keys and sitting in the car listening to WMBS-AM radio until the rest of the family came out to go home. It was great to hear all the pop songs coming across the airwaves. The songs of my childhood still bring back good memories.

Oldies

Amazing how our brain works

Saving those songs we used to love

Putting those 45’s on a miniature shelf

Stashed away in our cranial juke box

When I was sixteen WMBS-AM

Played all the latest pop songs

Now I listen to those same songs

On WRBK- FM oldies in the Carolina

April Love, Jail House Rock, Love Me Tender

Peggy Sue, Stand By Me, Jack and Diane

Under the Boardwalk and Old Time Rock and Roll

All get pulled off my shelf

It only takes those first three notes

Amazing how I love those old songs

And yet find it hard to love the new ones

Maybe it has to do with first impressions

That keep on playing over and over

Fifty-five years later

59-chevy

Our 59 Chevy with my little brother and his cousin Doug

6 thoughts on “Oldies

Leave a Reply

