Losing Touch…The Point of No Return

Image result for super walmart

He was wondering across the checkout lanes

At the local Super Wal-Mart

With a look of concern on his face

As he looked across the carts

 

He was unaware of his condition.

His pants were soaked and soiled

His only concern was to find his wife…

And surely she would come through soon

 

As I watched him move from lane to lane

My heart went out to this man

Who seemed not to know the state he was in

But had only one plan

 

I asked him if I could be of help

He said he didn’t think so

She would be coming through very soon.

And he wandered on down the row

 

I went to find a manager

Who could help him find his wife

But when we returned he had vanished

He was nowhere in sight

 

I still think about the old man not much older than myself

And wonder if he found her

And what it must be like

Not to know who you are

 

I cried many tears as I recalled

The empty look, the lack of concern

Unaware of the condition he was in

And for the mind that had grown dim

 

I wonder if I too will reach

That point of no return

The place where my only concern will be

Just to find the one I love

Losing Touch   …The Point of No Return

 

He was wondering across the checkout lanes

At the local Super Wal-Mart

With a look of concern on his face

As he looked across the carts

 

He was unaware of his condition.

His pants were soaked and soiled

His only concern was to find his wife…

And surely she would come through soon

 

As I watched him move from lane to lane

My heart went out to this man

Who seemed not to know the state he was in

But had only one plan

 

I asked him if I could be of help

He said he didn’t think so

She would be coming through very soon.

And he wandered on down the row

 

I went to find a manager

Who could help him find his wife

But when we returned he had vanished

He was nowhere in sight

 

I still think about the old man not much older than myself

And wonder if he found her

And what it must be like

Not to know who you are

 

I cried many tears as I recalled

The empty look, the lack of concern

Unaware of the condition he was in

And for the mind that had grown dim

 

I wonder if I too will reach

That point of no return

The place where my only concern will be

Just to find the one I love

******************************

Photo: Web Image

6 thoughts on “Losing Touch…The Point of No Return

Leave a Reply

