Red Tail Hawk

IMG_9221.JPG

When a Red Tail Hawk landed on my rail, I had to get a photo. It sat there looking at me as I eased my way out the sliding door and down onto the steps shooting photos. I decided to write an acrostic poem about my experience.

Red Tail Hawk resting on my deck rail

nothing to do but primp and fluff

Eying me carefully as I pull back the screen

wondering what’s up

Drawing me in with his watchful eye

as the shutter clicks and birds fly by

IMG_9216

Tell me big red what are you thinking

as you enter into my world

Are you not afraid

but then why would you be

I am the one with reservations

as I enter your space totally aware

Long talons could do great damage

to my face. my arms, my body or my hair

*

How long will you sit there staring at me

through that emerald cast eye

Am I friend or foe will it be fight or flight

as I slowly creep by

Will you leave undaunted by my stare

looking for doves from your perch up there

Keeping me always in your gaze

as you walk my runway rail

fluffing and primping your red tail

IMG_9212

 

Leave a Reply

