Sweet Baby Boy

Being adopted must be a traumatic experience for a little boy who started the first year of his life with a foster parent. This was  the experience of my grandson. He was adopted into a family who spoke a different language, ate different food, and had other children.  You can understand why he did not want his new parents to leave him at night. I wrote this as a lullaby that expresses some of the feelings that I imagined occurred  during this time. He has since grown into a well adjusted little boy.

IMG_5872

 

Sweet Baby Boy

Sweet baby boy just close your eyes

Go off to dreamland with a sigh

Sweet baby boy fly away

To worlds unknown beyond the eye

*

Sweet baby boy come to me now

With all your tears a crying

Sweet baby boy I’ll ease your fears

And soon you’ll be a sighin’

*

And when you wake I’ll be right here

Near you I’ll be lyin’

To keep you safe and let you know

This is your home where I am

*

Through tears and fears throughout the years

I’ll always be your Mother

And though you might not understand

There’ll never be another

Painting by Dwight L. Roth

 

Leave a Reply

