The First Time

Dwight & Ruth Engagement Photo

Most of us can remember the first time we met our soul mate. Isn’t it amazing how all the details get embedded in our brains. The place, the look, the smile, the clothes, and the words spoken are all remembered in exact detail. This is how I remember my first encounter with my wife. This poem expresses how I felt that first time.

The First Time

I saw you coming toward me

As I came down the steps

We made small talk about classes and schedules

Your smile was genuine

You said you liked our singing

The Optimists were just beginning

You hair up in a bun

All wrapped up and neat

A tan pleated skirt graced your hips

Your smile was infectious

We parted ways

As we said our goodbyes

Your smile branded itself in my brain

I never forgot our first time

One thought on “The First Time

Leave a Reply

