Give me Comfort Not Truth

IMG_2767

What drives your choices? If you are honest you would say it is self-interest,  security, and a sense of entitlement. When our security or way of life feels threatened we are like a raccoon backed into a corner. We come  out hissing and spitting with our claws out. The older I get the more I move in the direction of wanting life to stay the same. Change makes me very uncomfortable.  It is easy to turn a blind eye to what is happening in the world. The thing is, the world is constantly changing. I may not like everything, but it will happen whether I like it or not. This poem talks about resistance to change and the feeling of entitlement.

Give Me Comfort…Not Truth

Give me comfort not truth

…It suits me better and eases my mind

In my fine house   …Behind the gate

…just down the lane

I close the door     …I don’t feel your pain

Give me comfort not truth     …Salve my guilt

…hide my shame

In my fine car    I’m not to blame

I drive on   …can’t be soiled or stained

Give me comfort not truth

…Save my soul free my mind

As I drop a five in your plate for the bottom line

I close my eyes     …my heart is blind

Give me comfort not truth

…Oh what tangled webs we weave

Don’t tell me you love me

Just please don’t tell me to leave …

Give me comfort not truth

…As I consume Earth’s wealth

Never blinking     …Fill me up

My car, My boat, My SUV, and My truck

…Isn’t life grand!

Give me comfort not truth

…Tell me what I want to hear.

God loves me more than he loves you

Maybe next year    …I’ll help you too

Give me comfort not truth   …Vote for me I’m God’s man

Tell ‘em to get a job      No more helping hand.

I’ll send our young solders    …to fight in Iran

Give me comfort not truth     …My views are always best.

ABC & NBC   FOX & CNN

I’ll close my mind       …and just pretend.

Give me comfort not truth

We are the “chosen ones” …we are blessed

We deserve it,   This “Christian Nation”

No aid for them     …In their situation

Give me comfort not truth

…Could I be wrong?

No, it would be too hard to change

This good life     …will always stay the same

God Bless the USA

Leave a Reply

