The “Just Fine” Mask

EER_0783What kind of mask do you wear?  Most of us at some time in our life have put on a mask to hide what is happening in our life. On the outside we appear to be doing well, but on the inside we are not “Just Fine!”  “Don’t worry, Be happy!” might work well in the words of a song, but many people are not ready to reveal themselves because of the fear they won’t be heard. My former pastor used to say, “What’s happening is not always what’s going on!” Take time for your friends and co-workers. Listen and find out what is really going on. This poem speaks to our superficiality and how it affects us.

The “Just Fine” Mask

“How are you?” “Oh, I am just fine!”

How easy to protect ourselves behind our mask

Social butterflies flitting here and there

A drop of nectar from me and one from you

Kiss, Kiss!

“How are you?” “Well, I have been better.”

“Stop right there I don’t want to know”

Cutting you off… too much information

No invested emotion here

Kiss, Kiss

“How are you?” “Oh, I am so glad you asked!”

“Here we go again… do I really have to listen to this?”

“Tell me what is going on, I would love to hear.”

“Don’t worry it will get better.”

Kiss, Kiss

“How are you?” “I am really struggling!”

“I am so sorry, tell me more.”

“What can I do to help?”

“I’ll call you soon!” “Then we’ll talk.”

Kiss, Kiss

“Hi how are you?” “I’m fine!”

“I can’t deal with this anymore”

“Love you, goodbye!”

Leave a Reply

