The Lover That Won’t Let Me Go

EER_0350

You’re the Lover That Won’t Let Me Go

The maternal instinct is found in almost all animal, birds, and humans. We do whatever is necessary to and provided for and keep our children safe.  The Bible describes God as having that same desire to care for and sustain his children. The Psalmist says, “As a father cares for his children, so my Father cares for me.” Just as the bird in the photo above starts life totally dependent on its mother for food, we to need to realize that it is God’s mercy and grace that sustains us. This poem metaphorically describes our relationship with God as two lovers reaching out in antiphonal love for one another. This was originally written as a song. 

You’re the lover of my soul     

…the one that won’t let me go

You call out to me 

…I call out to you

You’re the lover that won’t let me go

Lord, you are the one I adore 

…the one that won’t let me go

You call out to me   

…I call out to you

You’re the Lover that won’t let me go

 

Your beauty is everywhere      

…I feel your love and care…

Holy Spirit, speak into my soul

…and draw my heart to you

You’re the lover of my soul     

…the one that won’t let me go

You call out to me    

…I call out to you

You’re the lover that won’t let me go

 

Your truth is in your Word       

…that I so often heard

Open my eyes that I may see   

…the beauty of your grace

Lord, you are the one I adore  

…the one that won’t let me go

                You call out to me                

…I call out to you

You’re the Lover that won’t let me go

Your love makes me alive        

… It makes me realize

Without you Jesus, I am lost   

…but with you I’m satisfied

You’re the lover of my soul     

 …the one that won’t let me go

You call out to me

…I call out to you

You’re the lover that won’t let me go

Lord, you are the one I adore

…the one that won’t let me go

You call out to me

…I call out to you

You’re the Lover that won’t let me go

Leave a Reply

